Book Review: Sleepless in Manhattan by Sarah Morgan

Book number 27 of my Goodreads Reading Challenge (and book number 8 of my increasingly unsociable holiday) was Sleepless in Manhattan by Sarah Morgan.

‘Great friends. Amazing Apartment. An incredible job. Paige has ticked off every box on perfect New York life checklist. Until disaster strikes and instead of shimming further up the career ladder, Paige is packing up her desk.

Her brother’s best friend Jake might be the only person who can help her put her life back together. He also happens to be the boy she spent her teen years pining after, and Paige is determined not repeat her past mistakes. But the more time she spends with Jake, the more Paige realises the one thing that was missing from her world all along: The perfect New York love story…’ (Amazon, you rock)

Sleepless in Manhattan is the first in the From Manhattan with Love trilogy by Sarah Morgan. I have to be honest – I read this entirely based on the Snow Crystal trilogy which I absolutely loved – check out my previous review!

Sarah Morgan knows how to write a good chick lit series – I love that each story in the series is a new story based around a character that features in each of the novels.  It gives you a real insight into these characters, and gives you the opportunity to follow them through the novels.

I enjoyed reading about Paige and her friends as they face an uncertain future and how they are able to grow in the face on adversity.  As with all Sarah Morgan novels, the love story between Paige and Jake is the central focus, and this is a lovely, relatable story.  I can’t say that I preferred Sleepless in Manhattan to the Snow Crystal trilogy (sorry but I loved that!), however I did really enjoy it and I will be reading Sunset in Central Park.

Rating: 3 and a half out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

