Book Review – It Would be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t it?)

So my first book of 2016 has been It Would be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) by Sophie Ronald. I wanted to start off with an easy read, and this definitely falls within that category.  The story is fairly predictable, there is no getting away from that.  However it is warm and engaging, with likeable characters.  It is quite easy to see very early on how the novel will end – in fact I found myself getting quite frustrated with Ellie, the lead character, as she was so very blind to what was going on around her.  Whilst I feel I am being quite negative, please don’t let that put you off.  For a light read, it’s great – I enjoyed reading about Ellie and Rose, two sisters who are very different yet so close, something that I can definitely relate to.  The dynamics of their relationship is one of my favourite parts of the book.

So, whilst I don’t think this novel is one that will stay with you for a long time to come, it is certainly an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon on the beach, or an evening in front of a fire with a glass of wine and a slice of cake!

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

